Capers (Capparis)

• 39 Replies

Alisdair

• Global Moderator
Capers (Capparis)
« on: June 29, 2012, 08:30:07 AM »
Very nice ideas coming from Fleur. I will just add to the suggestions the caper bush (Capparis spinosa) if you would also like  to go for a bush/creeper.  Caper would be dormant until mid-spring when acanthus would be full bloomed, and it would gain ground in the summer, when acanthus disappears . In the winter its Caper's turn to die back, when Acanthus starts to grow, so the two plants have rather complementary cycles. And the caper bush wouldn't need a drop of water either.
This is just an idea of mine... I haven't seen in in any garden yet (But I am also new in this so there are many many gardens for me to see) :)

In the thread on Underplanting, Bolanthus's suggestion of trying Capers has started a discussion of Capers more generally, which is better here as a new thread.
By the way most capparis are very difficult to germinate and transplant later on...

I'd say Oron's "very difficult" is an understatement! A 2009 scientific paper referred to two dozen previous studies on caper germination, and since then there have been several more. Although various protocols have been suggested claiming varying degrees of success, no-one seems to have cracked the problem. I once carefully followed an Italian protocol which the authors had claimed gave quite a decent, if low, percentage germination, and got zero. I have had equally complete failure with various folk recommendations, too, including sowing the seed wrapped inside a fig, and with a hollow straw blowing fresh seed into likely crannies.
The infuriating thing is that left to itself self-sown seedlings crop up happily all over the place :'(
« Last Edit: June 30, 2012, 07:13:20 AM by Alisdair »
Alisdair Aird