Campanula in Samothrace IDd by Oron as Campanula samothracica

• 5 Replies

Ina

• Email
Campanula in Samothrace IDd by Oron as Campanula samothracica
« on: January 18, 2012, 11:26:25 AM »
Hi everyone!!

I am new to this so please be patient with my ignorance. Last September I visited the island of Samothrace and we found this beautiful flower, that we thought it was a Campanula species. When I was trying letter to identify it I couldn't recognise it. We saw It at 1.600m at a very isolated place living in a crack in the rocks. It was the only plant we saw there. Here are the pictures.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2012, 10:06:25 AM by Alisdair »
I live in the west of Greece and have a small garden. I love flowers but I have few in my garden. I usually take pictures of flowers when I hike. I started making a blog with the flora that I see on my trips.

Ina

• Email
Re: Campanula (?) in Samothrace
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2012, 11:27:18 AM »
and here is the next one
I live in the west of Greece and have a small garden. I love flowers but I have few in my garden. I usually take pictures of flowers when I hike. I started making a blog with the flora that I see on my trips.

pamela

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2012, 07:46:59 PM »
Hello Ina!
What a beautiful thing!  Its quite wonderful when you come across such gems in the Mediterranean (Aegean!).  It does look like Campanula but I am not an expert.........
Jávea, Costa Blanca, Spain
Min temp 5c max temp 38c  Rainfall 550 mm 

"Who passes by sees the leaves;
 Who asks, sees the roots."
     - Charcoal Seller, Madagascar

Ina

• Email
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2012, 09:20:11 PM »
It was trully astonishing!!It was a nice suprise to find it there since it was really dry and rocky. I think it was the only spot with any soil in a big distance!!the way it was growing was really breathtaking! I hope that some expert will be able to help me!

oron peri

• Global Moderator
    • http://www.greentours.co.uk/Leader/Oron-Peri/
    • Email