Starting a Northern California garden in a drought

• 5 Replies

cicerone

Starting a Northern California garden in a drought
« on: January 14, 2012, 07:54:08 PM »
I'm just getting started, planting a native Californian/Mediterranean garden here in the San Francisco fogbelt. Essentially, the temperature usually stays between 40-70 degrees (4-21c) year-round, never getting exceptionally cold or hot because of moderating effect of the cold Pacific. Where I live (South San Francisco) is not directly on the coast, so a bit sunnier, but still close enough to have pretty cool summers.

But as you know, winter is the growing season in our climates and this winter has been bone-dry so far. After a short spurt early in the season, there has been no rain for over a month and some of the warmest winter days on record. Not the best time to start a garden, but I'm proceeding with my plan.

My plan is essentially to tear out all the lawn and replace with native or Mediterranean plants, as well as a few fruit trees (an orange, 2 olives) and a small garden plot. Some of the many species include: Coffeeberry (Rhamnus Californica 'Mound San Bruno'), Hummingbird Sage (Salvia spathacea), Emerald Carpet Manzanita, Rosemary 'Lockwood de Forest', Greek Oregano, Acanthus Mollis,  Montara Manzanita (Arctostaphylos montaraensis), Douglas Iris (Iris Douglasiana), Giant Chain Fern, Western Sword Fern, Ceanothus 'Yankee Point', Evergreen Huckleberry (Vaccinium Ovatum), Western Azalea (Rhododendron Occidentale).

As you can see, my palette ranges from chaparral / classic Med (for my sunnier, drier, well-drained spots) to NorCal redwood forest (for the shade, part-shade spots). With a few exceptions, I'm favoring plants that are tough and proven over exotic ones as this is my first time out. I've gotten as far as tearing out the back lawn and planting/deep mulching about 2/3 of that (see pic).

I've learned a lot on this forum and others. I hope to give back once my garden matures a bit.

Thanks,