Not your usual pests

• 2 Replies

Pauline

Not your usual pests
« on: April 30, 2015, 10:31:13 AM »
Four-legged, not six-legged, so I hope this is in the right place.

Something - chief suspects kounavi and moggy - occasionally burrows into my pots of Pelargoniums, shredding the whole plant in the process. Last night it was a recently-planted specimen whose pot was literally bristling with pointed sticks that proved to be no deterrent whatsoever.

I have now salvaged the remaining bits and put them back in the pot with a top-dressing of fairly chunky gravel.

Meanwhile elsewhere I'm trying chicken wire pinned down over the surface of the compost.

I've also had problems with sheep munching some shrubs in pots I naïvely put outside the gate (to gently discourage people from parking in front of it); these now contain Oleanders. Eat that, you woolly devils!

Has anyone had either of these problems and/or has another solution to suggest?  :-\

An amateur and a complete novice in mediterranean stuff, attempting to establish a garden in Andros, Cyclades, Greece. We're about 45m above sea level. Steep learning curve? Vertical straight line.

Pauline

Re: Not your usual pests
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2015, 04:27:13 PM »
Update:

Chunky gravel not effective - there has been no more burrowing but the plant itself has been repeatedly shredded. It now barely exists. The little beast has since decimated a Lavender and had a go at a Hebe.

I'm now pretty certain that the culprit is a Kounavi, and that the problem will only be resolved when we put into action our plan to have dogs. And then I suppose we'll have to train our dogs not to attack the plants. *Sigh*

An amateur and a complete novice in mediterranean stuff, attempting to establish a garden in Andros, Cyclades, Greece. We're about 45m above sea level. Steep learning curve? Vertical straight line.

Hilary

Re: Not your usual pests
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2015, 07:12:49 AM »
We have a problem with the local cats.