My pond again

• 16 Replies

Pauline

My pond again
« on: April 27, 2015, 08:18:07 AM »
There has been progress in the face of great difficulty obtaining anything and everything I need. Am currently trying to work up a water feature thingy and am not finding it easy. I used to have a very simple old-bit-of-garden-hose one but this pond seems too formal for that. I wouldn't bother but the fish will appreciate it and I do like the sound of running water.

The bits of rock on the marginal shelf, but the way, are for birds of varying sizes to drink and bathe. They might also serve as an escape point for anything daft enough to fall in.

Can't preview this for some reason so am hoping that it will be OK if I just post it.  :-\

An amateur and a complete novice in mediterranean stuff, attempting to establish a garden in Andros, Cyclades, Greece. We're about 45m above sea level. Steep learning curve? Vertical straight line.

Fleur Pavlidis

• Global Moderator
Re: My pond again
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2015, 05:57:02 PM »
Cheer up Pauline, what would be the fun if you could just walk into a shop and get what you wanted? Your pond looks as if it’s coming along fine and I must say you were wise to have raised sides. I’m afraid I’ve had two drownings in my pond, a tortoise and a hedgehog, and a second hedgehog was only saved in the nick of time because I heard him struggling. I did what all the pond books say (and I think they just copy each other) and created a ‘beach’ for the animals to use, but animals of little brain don’t think to walk all round the perimeter to find their designated entrance. They see water and go straight for it and slip straight in. As it happened the indestructible butyl lining I used rotted in the sun after a couple of years so I covered the edge with cheap artificial grass and this gives a good gripping surface for thirsty beasts. Animals of slightly larger brain are not convinced though, and my cat has fallen in twice.