Ricinus communis from seed - help please

• 14 Replies

Pauline

Ricinus communis from seed - help please
« on: October 19, 2014, 08:56:08 PM »
I harvested some seeds from a lovely specimen of Ricinus communis today, and am now wondering what to do next and when to do it. (Perhaps I should just have dug up one the many seedlings at its feet.  :-[ )

Should I clean the seeds or leave them in their pods?
Should I sow them now or wait until spring?
In pots or in situ?

You may gather that I have grown very little from seed before - and that was in another climate.

Edit: I have read the pinned topic on seed germination, and would sow when nature does it, but I don't know when the plant's seeds would normally be released (ejected?) from the capsules. And I also realise that many of you must be at the MGS AGM at the moment, but I dare say there's no hurry.

« Last Edit: October 20, 2014, 09:02:41 AM by Pauline »
An amateur and a complete novice in mediterranean stuff, attempting to establish a garden in Andros, Cyclades, Greece. We're about 45m above sea level. Steep learning curve? Vertical straight line.

Alice

Re: Ricinus communis from seed - help please
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2014, 08:49:06 PM »
Remove the seeds from the pods.
Soak them in tepid water for 24 hours.
Sow at a depth of 2-5 cm, outdoors in spring. I am sure you could sow at any time in pots indoors.
Amateur gardener who has gardened in north London and now gardens part of the year on the Cycladic island of Paros. Conditions: coastal, windy, annual rainfall 350mm, temp 0-35 degrees C.

Pauline

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2014, 09:04:28 PM »
Thank you, Alice.  :)

An amateur and a complete novice in mediterranean stuff, attempting to establish a garden in Andros, Cyclades, Greece. We're about 45m above sea level. Steep learning curve? Vertical straight line.

Trevor Australis

« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2014, 11:44:37 PM »