Euphorbia marginata? Confirmed by Oron

• 7 Replies

Pauline

Euphorbia marginata? Confirmed by Oron
« on: August 26, 2014, 09:26:10 AM »
Self-sown in my garden, and most welcome it is. It seems to have more rounded leaves and less variegation than other E. marginata I've seen. Wrong ID?

« Last Edit: September 06, 2014, 02:19:17 PM by Alisdair »
An amateur and a complete novice in mediterranean stuff, attempting to establish a garden in Andros, Cyclades, Greece. We're about 45m above sea level. Steep learning curve? Vertical straight line.

oron peri

• Global Moderator
    • http://www.greentours.co.uk/Leader/Oron-Peri/
    • Email
Re: Euphorbia marginata?
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2014, 01:06:29 PM »
Pauline, you are not wrong, it is Euphorbia marginata
Garden Designer, Bulb man, Botanical tours guide.
Living and gardening in Tivon, Lower Galilee region, North Israel.
Min temp 5c Max 42c, around 450mm rain.

Pauline

Re: Euphorbia marginata? Confirmed by Oron
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2014, 10:33:21 PM »
Thank you!

Sorry for delay in saying so - have been away.

An amateur and a complete novice in mediterranean stuff, attempting to establish a garden in Andros, Cyclades, Greece. We're about 45m above sea level. Steep learning curve? Vertical straight line.

Trevor Australis

« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2014, 11:38:06 PM »
It is a banned plant here because of it being SO dangerously poisonous. How dangerous is it? Any more so than other Euphorbias. I have seen it in the gardens of old Greek and Italian women but often local govt. officers 'request' that the offending plants be pulled up and taken to the dump. It is certainly impossible to buy as seeds or plants in nurseries here.
M Land. Arch., B. Sp. Ed. Teacher, traveller and usually climate compatible.

Umbrian

• Email
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2014, 07:12:22 AM »