Novice gardener looking for advice!

• 2 Replies

Santa

Novice gardener looking for advice!
« on: June 25, 2014, 01:32:08 PM »
Hello all,

I'm new to the MGS forum and am incredibly impressed with the fantastic amount of knowledge to be found here. I have a very specific issue that I'm hoping for a little help with.

About three years ago I moved from the Costa Blanca to Brittany. Having never shown any previous interest in gardening I found a sudden passion for it here. Next month my family and I are returning to the Costa Blanca and I would like to take a number of my treasured collection of plants. However gardening there is a very different prospect to here in our very Northern European climate and acid soil and I'm not sure how kindly some of my plants would take to the transplantation.

I'm happy enough with roses, yuccas, phormiums, salvias, crocosmia, gaura, trumpet vine and Russian sage making the move, but I also have:

Hydrangea macrophylla
Rhododendron Cosmopolitan
Canna
Asters
Dahlias
Echinacea
Lilac
Hebe
Fucsia
Pieris

Can anyone suggest how would be best to proceed?

Thanks in advance!
Transplanting a garden from Brittany to the Costa Blanca

David Bracey

• Email
Re: Novice gardener looking for advice!
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2014, 07:19:06 PM »
Take the lot and suck it and see.  You will be surprised how many mediterranean plants benefit from a Northern climate including Gaura, Miscanthus, Cercis, Hebes, Pieris, Hydrangea,Lilacs, etc . 
MGS member.

I have gardened in sub-tropical Florida, maritime UK, continental Europe and the Mediterranean basin, France. Of the 4 I have found that the most difficult climate for gardening is the latter.

David Dickinson

• Email
Re: Novice gardener looking for advice!
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2014, 12:36:21 AM »
Hi,