Cairo Nursery

• 5 Replies

plantsman50

• Email
Cairo Nursery
« on: March 16, 2013, 10:40:48 AM »
Hi,

I spent a couple of months last year (on and off) working on a technology transfer project in Cairo. During my days off I wandered around this fascinating city (dodging riots in Tahrir Square). This picture is of a nursery on the banks of the Nile on Zamelek Island (6th October bridge in the background). It was interesting for me to see what plants were available for Egyptians to buy and nice to see that all the plants were sold in handmade clay pots.

Martin
Martin Froggatt - Ripley, Derbyshire UK. Member of RHS and Alpine Garden Society. Grows an eclectic selection of plants in a very well drained south facing loam. Quality Manager by profession and enjoys photography and visiting gardens.

Alisdair

• Global Moderator
Re: Cairo Nursery
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2013, 01:50:17 PM »
What an extraordinary sight, Martin - the Nile behind, then those towering buildings. Thanks for sharing with us!
Alisdair Aird
Gardens in SE England (Sussex); also coastal Southern Greece, and (in a very small way) South West France; MGS member (and former president); vice chairman RHS Lily Group, past chairman Cyclamen Society

pamela

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2013, 07:52:57 PM »
I have also stayed on Zamalek a number of times. It's like an oasis in the middle of Cairo!  There some are interesting plantings around although I have never seen that nursery. Thanks for showing your photo.
Jávea, Costa Blanca, Spain
Min temp 5c max temp 38c  Rainfall 550 mm 

"Who passes by sees the leaves;
 Who asks, sees the roots."
     - Charcoal Seller, Madagascar

plantsman50

• Email
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2013, 10:33:47 PM »
Pamela,

I agree, compared to the rest of Cairo, Zamalek is an oasis of calm. I stay at the Marriott which has a nice garden area. I am due to go again in a few weeks, the sunshine will be welcome.

Martin