Echium candicans

• 4 Replies

David Bracey

• Email
Echium candicans
« on: July 20, 2011, 08:32:50 PM »

I have just received this enquiry from Andaluia, Spain.  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks,  David

"Last year I bought and planted a coveted Echium candicans.  The small plant grew quickly into a magnificent mound of grey green, slightly felty (and scratchy) leaves and, without any irrigation, last year produced magnificent plumes of purple flowers.  The plant grew even larger and impressive this year but produced only 2 plumes.  It was doing well until 3 weeks ago when I noticed a very slight withering of the leaves.  I promptly gave it several cans of water but today I've chopped the whole plant down because all the leaves had turned paper dry.  My gardening books are unclear about whether this Echium is a biennial or a perennial.   I have had no experience of growing this plant and need to know what to expect from any future Echiums that I plant and, indeed, how I should be caring for it.  What would your advice be?  Olivier Filippi's excellent book does not include this plant.""

MGS member.

I have gardened in sub-tropical Florida, maritime UK, continental Europe and the Mediterranean basin, France. Of the 4 I have found that the most difficult climate for gardening is the latter.

Alisdair

• Global Moderator
Re: Echium candicans
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2011, 07:21:45 AM »
Echium candicans (syn. E. fastuosum) is a perennial, but will not live long unless totally happy (we did see some splendid plants said to be quite old at the MGS meeting in Monterey, California), so is usually thought of as a short-lived perennial, and may behave as a biennial if it has a set-back.