New to MGS Forum

• 4 Replies

JR

• Email
New to MGS Forum
« on: September 11, 2012, 05:56:14 AM »
I just wanted to say hello to the group. I am a novice when it comes to gardening in the mediterranean climate. I have had a small garden for several years here in France, but I has been a battle to preserve the garden each winter. The house fronts on the beach which presents it's own set of headaches which I will tell you about in a moment.   

This last winter I completely rebuilt, and I hope improved, the garden. I not only increased the area of the garden, but installed drip irrigation, built a pergola, and installed about 200 square meters of paving.

The major problem I am trying to deal with currently, is the sand which blows into the garden, mainly during the winter. It can amount to several wheelbarrow loads in a single storm. During the garden improvement I mentioned above I had raised beds constructed and I am currently going through the options on how to deal with the sand by (probably) covering the beds with something(?). I am presently thinking about constructing screened frames...something akin to screened doors, which I hope, the screen material will not only divert the sand but also give some protection to the plants from the wind. These frames would only be on the beds during the winter. Will it do it do the job? ... I don't know... only time will tell.   

I am sure some might say; "If it's that difficult, why bother?"  But when spring comes around and the plants are in bloom...it's wonderful!

JR
Seismologist, Photographer, Amateur Gardener. Currently dividing my time between the south of France, on the Mediterranean (0m), and the Rocky Mountains (2743m) of Colorado (U.S.).

oron peri

• Global Moderator
    • http://www.greentours.co.uk/Leader/Oron-Peri/
    • Email
Re: New to MGS Forum
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2012, 04:40:08 PM »
Welcom to the forum JR.

Maybe some photos might help to understand how is your garden situated,