What is this 50 - NOW SOLVED

• 12 Replies

Umbrian

• Email
What is this 50 - NOW SOLVED
« on: September 25, 2013, 10:07:15 AM »
Although I am not very good at identifying these I enjoy seeing them and thought I would have a go at posting one. Probably very easy for all you experts out there :)
« Last Edit: September 29, 2013, 07:24:26 AM by Alisdair »
MGS member living and gardening in Umbria, Italy for past 19 years. Recently moved from my original house and now planning and planting a new small garden.

Hilary

Re: What is this 50
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2013, 06:30:51 PM »
Not being an expert I have no idea.
Unless there is a cryptic crossword clue in your post and it is the seed pod of an iris.
Since it  is years since i have seen an iris seedpod I wouldn't like to say.
Everyone else seems to be very quite on the subject
MGS member
Living in Korinthos, Greece.
No garden but two balconies, one facing south and the other north.
Most of my plants are succulents which need little care

JTh

• Email
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2013, 10:30:17 PM »
I'm quiet because I have no idea at all.
Retired veterinary surgeon by training with a PhD in parasitology,  but worked as a virologist since 1992.
Member of the MGS  since 2004. Gardening in Oslo and to a limited extent in Halkidiki, Greece.

Umbrian

• Email
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2013, 06:34:17 AM »
I thought the lack of responses was because it was too easy and the experts were holding back.......
I did not think it would be difficult to establish the identity of the plant .........
(No, not an Iris seed pod Hilary)
MGS member living and gardening in Umbria, Italy for past 19 years. Recently moved from my original house and now planning and planting a new small garden.

pamela

« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2013, 10:19:41 AM »
Carole ...Is it a member of the Liliaceae family?  Also, the seeds look awfully like Papaya seeds but not the rest.
Jávea, Costa Blanca, Spain